Marriage Officiants

Before performing marriage ceremonies in Minnesota a person must be 21 years of age and have recorded their certificate of ordination with a county in Minnesota.  Please see  Minnesota Marriage Statute MS 517.04 and MS 517.05 for more details.

You may file your credentials with Chisago County by mail or in person at the Recorder's Office. Mail a copy of your credentials (if required) and an original Certificate of Filing (PDF) along with the $20 filing fee or bring your original credentials, valid photo Identification (ID) and $20 filing fee to our office.